Kenwood House, Hampstead, London.
An English Heritage property, re-modeled by Robert Adam from 1764 to 1779 for the grand judge Lord Mansfield. After being passed through various hands and later used for housing servicemen during the Second World War, the property is now managed by English Heritage.
Adams added the library to balance the pre-exisiting Orangery, and the Iconic Portico at the entrance. The property is once again open for the public to enjoy after a period of restoration works to return the interior decor to its full 18th Century glory.
Fabric for the restoration of the much admired Robert Adam Library.
Humphries Weaving supplied a silk damask and a glazed tammy in crimson for curtains, upholstery and linings in the Library.
The damask design dates from 1720-30 and is found on silk bed hangings in Christchurch Mansion, Ipswich. There is another version of the same design in the Warner Textile Archive, and an extremely narrow 18 inch wide version at Holkham Hall, Norfolk. The restoration and re-presentation of Library furniture has required new pure silk damask for upholstery, narrow woven to match the earlier damask supplied.
Project references: 925 / 929 / 944 / 1069 / 2298