St. Fagan’s National History Museum

St. Fagan’s National History Museum, Cardiff, Wales.

Opened in 1948 St. Fagan’s National History Museum forms part of the National Museum & Galleries of Wales.

It stands in the grounds of St. Fagan’s Castle, a late 16th Century manor house donated to the people of Wales by the Earl of Plymouth.  With over 40 re-erected buildings taken from throughout Wales, to represent the Welsh architecture over the centuries St. Fagans is one of Europe’s leading open-air museums and one of Wales’s most popular heritage attractions which was started in 1946 and opened to the public in 1948.

You can step back in time into a number of significant houses from throughout Wales to view historic artifacts. Including the State bedroom, of which Humphries Weaving restored the drapes.


Toppesfield Damask, St Fagens State Bed Ref 339 1656

The State Bedroom

Fabric for the restoration of the State Bedroom.

Humphries Weaving were commissioned to supply pure silk crimson damask for the restoration of bed hangings and window drapes in the State Bedroom.

The design once featured strongly at Hampton Court Palace before the great fire, and another version of the design can be seen at the Warner Textile Archive.

Project reference: 339 / 1656