Chevening House, Kent.
The earliest record of the Chevening Estate dates back to the 13th Century, it was acquired by John Lennard in 1551 and stayed in his family for 8 generations. The house, thought to be accredited to Inigo Jones, was built by the 13th Lord Dacre between 1615 and 1630.
The 7th Earl Stanhope (1880 -1967) had a distinguished military career, being awarded the Military Cross and the Distinguished Service Order. He was conferred the Order of the Garter in 1934 and in the same year established the National Maritime Museum at Greenwich. A year later he secured the post of First Commissioner of Works in the cabinet and played a major part in the coronation of 1937. Other Government roles included positions within the Admiralty, the War Office and at the Foreign Office.
Stanhope retired from public office in 1940 and before his death arranged that the Chevening Estate be passed to trust that would allow future cabinet ministers to take advantage of its benefits, as he had.
The Tapestry Room
Pure silk broadloom lute in Prince of Wales green for window drapes in the Tapestry Room.
Project Reference: 1892
All worsted wool plain tammy tight upholstery in Prince of Wales green for gilt side chairs by Kent for the Tapestry Room.
Project reference: 10202
Silk & Cotton, silk faced repp for chair backs.
Project Reference: 2175
The lute and tammy fabrics were woven in Prince Of Wales green, which was originally developed for refurbishment works undertaken at Hampton Court Palace.